The White Pages

Creation Care March 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — perfectlywhite @ 10:11 pm

On Wednesday, April 1 Northwestern is putting on its annual “Day of Learning” in which classes are cancelled and students, professors, community members, and a keynote speaker come together to focus on one topic.  This year the topic is “Creation Care.”  The goal is to present varying aspects of what it means to be stewards of the earth and to take care of our corner of the world.  Well, the corner of the world my husband and I occupy happens to have a thing for food, so I’m presenting a workshop entitled, “Eating Outside of the Box: Alternatives to Preservatives.”  (p.s. I was pretty proud of coming up with that title!  It’s a pun – do you get it?)  Caleb and I have been slowly changing our living habits to become more sustainable – we’re more concerned with health & sustaining what we’ve been given than “being green” (it sounds too fadish, and I can’t handle fads – it should be a lifestyle change not a way to market t-shirts).  The biggest change that we’ve made so far has been in the area of what we eat – I can’t take eating health food, but I can handle eating whole foods!  We’ve been learning a ton about locally produced fruits, veggies, meat, dairy – you name it.  I have never liked vegetables before – and I think that’s because a lot of grocery store veggies taste like cardboard – but when we get fresh, locally grown, whole veggies – YUM!!  Grass-fed beef and free-range chickens also taste way better.  Anyways, my goal is to update our blog with some of the research I’ve done and what I’ve learned as a way to continue the process. AND, since I cannot believe I have yet to post even ONE RECIPE , my goal is to post more recipes that use whole, unrefined, and fresh foods!  Especially since spring is coming…and I have this crazy desire to plant a huge garden, and I’ve not the slightest clue how to do it.  Oh, and we’ll be gone all summer.  If you have a garden, I covet your little green thumb.

 

Leave a Reply

