The White Pages

I’m a real boy! August 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — perfectlywhite @ 10:54 pm

So, over the last few weeks, Kari (now Car-ee, as she is being called in our new town) and I have felt like life is starting to slow down a little bit. Instead of running around, borrowing cars, wondering where/ who we would be staying with, we know that we will be moving very soon, and thus our residence will be constant; Deloris the Taurus (our ’94 green machine) is running- on a prayer, but running nontheless. Our job description is becoming a little more focused: fundraising and planning for what we want to do for youth group for the semester/ year- if you have any suggestions, tips, etc. let us know (respond to this post, call, text, facebook, anything really) we gladly welcome it! 🙂

So, in regards to the title of this post- I got it from the Pinocchio character from “Shrek” (I don’t remember which part) but he proudly proclaims, “I’m a real boy!” This has come to mind because I am beginning to realize where in life I am at. I have grraduated from college, I have been married for more than a year, and I am starting a job in the field I went to school for…a real job! It may sound strange, but it is finally starting to hit me! For the first time this summer, Kare and I have finally been able to sit down and think/ plan for this new adventure. I am yet to wrap my mind around the tasks and responsibilities that now come with this position. Lately, I have been scared of it. Scared that there are things I can’t handle, things I will forget, not having a plan- or even a clue of where to start, so on and so forth.
Kari has shared what she learned through our Coldwater summer about “functioning through fear”; what I learned was that I am afraid of failing- failing at anything. Thinking back through the last 7-8 years or so, my fear of failure has kept me from trying new things, kept me from maximizing my potential as a leader, and has probably stunted growth as a husband, friend, son, brother, and Christ-follower. So, with this new chapter in life, I have probably been a little slow in preparing because I am afraid- asking myself, “what if … doesn’t work?” “what if they don’t like me?”

I am comforted in the fact that I know we are supposed to be here; we have been led here and have gone with obedience, knowing fullly that we have been/ are/ and will continue to be provided for so long as we say, “Yes Lord…”

So, growing up, I’m finding, is hard; however, it is very exciting and we believe that God is going to work through us in ways we don’t even know.

Well, here’s to being “real” boys and girls!

 

2 Responses to “I’m a real boy!”

  1. simon Says:

    Jeremiah 33:3- “Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.

    you’re last comment about God using you in ways you don’t even know reminded me of that.
    you two are very encouraging to me! you get it. you understand what it takes to live this life. don’t lose sight of that…of Him!

    praying for you guys!

  2. mom Says:

    You are a real boy! and Dad and I are so very proud of you!


Leave a Reply

