The White Pages

Rice & Beans January 18, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — perfectlywhite @ 9:52 pm

One of the things I love about being involved in ministry are the constant challenges it brings.  In the process of teaching high school students things like, “What is Christianity?”, “Why Christianity?”, and this semester, “What do Christians do?”, we’re forced to really examine what our life is centered around.  One of the things Jesus talked about all the time was caring for the least of these (as in, the least in the world’s eyes, but Jesus also said the last will be first which is another thing worthy of meditating on).  In order to care, we must be able to relate somehow, so a few weeks ago at youth group we had rice and beans for dinner and we talked about the state of hunger around the world.  Here are a couple of pictures that we showed the group:

These pictures illustrate what each family eats in a week.  It’s a bit of a punch in the stomach to look at isn’t it?

These pictures got me thinking about my own state of eating.  I’m kind of a food snob.  I really love to cook, and I love/want what I eat to taste good – and not just good, but really good.  This can get really complicated when I get tired of certain meals and we wind up with a new recipe for dinner every night.  Now this is an ok thing (tiring but ok), until I get to the point that I feel entitled to food that tastes great and is new & exciting, which happens all the time.  SO in an effort to work on my attitude (read: my – Caleb’s not quite so picky), we’re trying to only make and eat five-ingredient meals for the time being.  These can still taste good, but it’s a reminder that I don’t need an entire picture full of food, to be thankful for a few really good ingredients, and realize that quality and quantity aren’t the same thing.  I’ll let you know when we have some favorites!

 

Leave a Reply

