The White Pages

I Should Never Bake When I’m Pregnant… January 29, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — perfectlywhite @ 7:45 pm

First off, I’ll pretend like I just blogged last week and there’s no 6 month gap between this post and the last…Second off, if I had blogged last week, you would already know that White baby #2 is due August 2 :).  So, assumptions aside…

Some friends of ours in Grand Marais are starting a coffee roasting business called “Fika”.  At 2:00 today, they are introducing Fika to the community by having a free tasting down at the North House Folk School, and they asked if I would make some gluten free treats to go along with the coffee.  “OF COURSE!” was my initial response.  Ha.  Mind you, this is in a half hour and I am sitting here blogging for the first time in 6 months instead of scrambling around trying to fix all of the screwed up gluten free baked goods I attempted to make while 13 weeks pregnant.  There should be a warning on my forehead, “DO NOT let this woman bake during pregnancy without adult supervision.”  I can’t seem to remember anything.

I’m a perfectionist, especially when it comes to those things that I’m supposed to be good at…baking being one of those things.  Someday I would LOVE to start a gluten free bakery of sorts, and I thought this would be a perfect opportunity to help out a friend and show off my skillZ.  Baking is such a great learning ground for grace.  I screwed the cream puffs up 3 times (wasting more than one kind of dough) and thus have no cream puffs to offer the potentially 40+ people, as the last batch over-baked 20 minutes ago.  I forgot to put SUGAR in the scones and under-baked the rugelach.  Despite the fact that I need to be there in 5 minutes, I have decided to be ok with my not-perfect, cream puff-less offering.  We learned a lot about “blessed brokenness” at a marriage retreat last weekend. I am learning to stop fighting my cracked self and instead ask that God bless and use me through (and because of) my brokenness.  Grace.

Enjoying Fika time :).  It all worked out well in the end.

 

2 Responses to “I Should Never Bake When I’m Pregnant…”

  1. simon Says:

    so exciting! glad to hear that bundle of joy #2 is on the way! been praying for you all! keep lookin up!

  2. You are hilarious 🙂 I just love this post. and let me just say it again…IM SOOO EXCITED ABOUT BABY WHITE #2!!!!! woohooo!! Love you!!


Leave a Reply

