The White Pages

Snyders! January 6, 2013

Filed under: From My Hands — perfectlywhite @ 5:45 am
Tags: , , ,

So, I have a gluten intolerance (like break out in rashes, intestinal cramping, digestive “issues” shortly after touching or consuming intolerant), and my babies are sensitive to milk protein (like blood in their diapers sensitive), so I can’t eat dairy when I’m nursing. This is medical necessity not hey i want to go on a diet. So we’re learning how to make food taste good in a different way then we used to.

Good friends of ours from Grand Marais love Snyders pretzels and would stock up every time they went to Duluth. I was at the store the other day and Snyders now has gluten free pretzels for $3.29 a bag! $3.29 people! That probably sounds like a lot if you can eat regular people pretzels, but prior to my discovery, the only gluten free pretzels I could find were $7 a bag. This is half price! So, in honor of Steve and Deb, I bought some and made these.

20130105-231229.jpg

Chocolate Peanut Butter Pretzel Sandwiches (the dairy and gluten free way)
Adapted from this recipe at Simply Scratch

1 bag gluten free pretzels
1 cup peanut butter, I like chunky
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 T softened Earth Balance “buttery spread”
1 teaspoon vanilla
12 oz bag dairy free chocolate chips (Ghirardelli semisweet or Enjoy Life)

Mix peanut butter, powdered sugar, brown sugar, “butter” (it hurts me to have to put that in quotes. Goes against everything in my nature.), and vanilla on medium speed until just blended. Lay pretzels out on a large sheet of parchment. I got about 100 total pretzel sandwiches out of this amount of peanut butter filling. Form about 1 teaspoon of the filling into balls and place on the pretzels. Press another pretzel on top to form the sandwich (that was my favorite part). Melt the chocolate chips however you like to melt chocolate and dip half of the sandwich. Place on parchment and sprinkle with sea salt. Let dry, probably overnight if you make them at 11 pm like I did. Then you can eat one for a midnight snack ;). Seriously addictive.

 

Leave a Reply

