The White Pages

Bag Lady February 11, 2013

Filed under: From My Heart — perfectlywhite @ 9:28 pm

I20130211-223814.jpg

Caleb has started calling me the bag lady lately. I resisted at first, but if I’m being honest, it’s true. I am the bag lady. On a normal day I have my purse, which is really a bag, the diaper bag, breast pump, and a food (lego, book, extra underwear) bag. I also have long hair, which gets caught up in all those bag straps. Inevitably I try and untangle my hair only to lose the straps of at least two of my bag lady bags. Usually I also have a carseat in the crook of my other arm and a preschooler at my feet running and growling in my wake. The straps fall halfway down my arm, I get all flustered, try and put them back on my shoulder only for my hair to get caught again and the whole charade replays itself.

Bag Lady is also a song by Erykah Badu that came out when I was 13. I only know this because I googled “bag lady”. Erykah told me, “Bag Lady you gone hurt your back dragging all them bags like that…one day those bags gone get in your way.” And she’s right. My back hurts. And my bags are in my way.

If you haven’t figured it out yet, I’m not just talking about bags. Sometimes it seems easier to juggle the bags and get tangled up in the straps when I really just need to reorganize my stuff and cut my hair. I choose the familiarity and “convenience” of the weighty baggage to the (potentially difficult) process of letting go of junk and starting fresh.

Lately I’ve felt a stir in my heart that says drop the bags. Let them go.

This is a spiritual thing.

It is also a biblical principle.

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest (Matthew 11:28). Let us throw off everything that hinders (Hebrews 12:1). Cast your anxieties on Him, because He cares for you (1 Peter 5:7).

Now I wrestle with how.

Photo credit: ~jjjohn~ / Foter.com / CC BY-NC-ND

 

Leave a Reply

